What Is Incognito Mode on ChatGPT?
Learn about what is Incognito Mode on ChatGPT and how to use this feature to enhance your privacy in this step-by-step guide.
One of the most popular AI tools on the internet, ChatGPT is always in the news for obvious privacy reasons. As we know by default, ChatGPT saves chat history, which stays in the sidebar unless you delete each individually. Well not any longer. Recently, OpenAI, the company behind ChatGPT, came up with a new update. If you want to know more about this then you are at the right place. In this guide, we are going to cover everything about what is Incognito Mode on ChatGPT, and how to use it.
What is Incognito Mode on ChatGPT ?
OpenAI introduced Incognito mode in its Chatbot. This new feature allows users to use ChatGPT without saving their conversation history. Open AI states that “Conversations that are started when chat history is disabled won’t be used to train and improve our models, and won’t appear in the history sidebar”. That means this feature blocks the AI from learning your inputs, which is beneficial if you don’t want to provide the model with personal information or preferences which can affect its output.
Enable Incognito Mode on ChatGPT
Step to enable this feature on your Chatbot:
- Open the ChatGPT app or visit the website.
- After logging in, click on the three-dot menu next to your account.
- Next, click on “Settings”, a new window will prompt.
- Then, click on the “Data controls” option situated below “General”.
- Toggle the switch off for Chat history & training by clicking on it.
- Finally, close the Setting window by clicking the “X”.
Once done, you will receive a message to the left sidebar of the screen stating “Chats won’t be saved in your history or used for training our models to improve ChatGPT”.
To disable ChatGPT incognito mode, click on “Enable chat history” from the left sidebar menu.
Furthermore, it is worth mentioning that conversations with the Chatbot will still be recorded but will eventually be deleted after 30 days even while using this mode. Certainly, users can now have more privacy in their conversations and manage their data more efficiently.